25/03/2011 at 8:35 AM

See that boy doing his homework in homeroom? He couldn’t do it last night because he was too busy talking his best friend out of suicide. See that girl, with her face caked in make up? She’s bullied, she needs to feel beautiful. See him, the one who wears long sleeves everyday? He covers his arms to hide the scars. See her, with the cheap, hand-me-down clothes? Her family can’t afford food for half the month, let alone get brand names. See the girl who laughs and smiles at every little thing? She cries herself to sleep every night. Wonder why she never lets her friends over her house? Because she’s afraid they’ll see her dad passed out drunk on the floor, as always. See how that girl cringes at rape jokes? She was raped. See the boy who everyone goes to for advice? He wishes someone would do the same for him. See the girl who never brings a lunch? She’s disgusted by her body. See her, with the little waist? She goes to the bathroom and forces herself to throw up so that she can keep her waist that way. See the boy over there, see the dark circles under his eyes? He has insomnia, he fears what he’ll see in his dreams. See that girl daydreaming over there? She has schizophrenia. See the boy biting his nails? He has cancer and he’s wondering how much time he has left. See your best friend? She’s addicted to drugs, but she can’t tell you because you wont understand. See that boy reading all about 9/11? His parents died on that day. See her, with her phone on her at all times? She’s waiting for a call saying her sister was found after a kidnapping 4 years ago. Don’t judge.

Entry filed under: life.

They ignore you now, but they’ll need you later. That’s life.


Do7anii.

My work, my hope, my love, my courage, all these things keep my head above water and keep me from complaining.
I'm an orphan and an ailurophile. I live in the jungle, mythical creatures &fairies are my family. I am no longer afraid of becoming lost, because the journey back always reveals something new and that is ultimately good for the soul.
If there’s just one piece of advice I can give you, it’s this - When there’s something you really want, fight for it, don’t give up no matter how hopeless it seems. And when you’ve lost hope, ask yourself if 10 years from now, you’re gonna wish you gave it just one more shot.Because the best things in life, they don’t come free.

Favorite Quote.

“It has been said that time heals all wounds. I do not agree. The wounds remain. In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue, and the pain lessens, but it is never gone.” - Rose Kennedy

Gravatar.

Life story:

"I was born to a woman I never knew and raised by another who took in orphans. I do not know my background, my lineage, my biological or cultural heritage. But when I meet someone new, I treat them with respect…. For after all, they could be my people." - James Michener, Author.

